Prefer to pay for your new website over 12 months? No problem! Find out more…

Finance Options

01752 291865

Meet the Team – Will Staton

Dec 8, 2022

We sat down with our newest Junior Web Developer – Will Staton – for another edition of ‘Meet the Team’ interview.

What is your role at WDSEO?

I am a new Junior Web Developer at WDSEO – I’ve been here for 11 months and every day I have learnt so much and felt so welcomed by everyone (feel like I’ve been here for a lot longer).

How did you get into the role you’re in now?

I have always worked in Engineering jobs which were great, but I’ve always been interested in web development (some previous experience) and technology in general, as well as doing a full time Computing degree on the side. When I got a call from a recruitment agency that a Junior Web Developer role was available, I jumped at the opportunity head-first and can’t imagine finding a better company to start my web development journey in.

What are you most looking forward to in your new role?

There are so many new skills to learn and a lot of knowledge to soak in, I’m continuing to be a sponge and take in as much as possible to be the best asset to the team as I can. I love to get stuck into client projects and seeing it through from start to the end. Every project I learn something new, new problems occur and then they lead to important lessons that developers such as Matt & Paul have already experienced.

What do you spend your free time doing?

Well, I have more hobbies than money but the main ones would be skateboarding, mountain biking, football (playing not watching), gym and building my dream office. Most of my hobbies are based outdoors but when it’s bad weather I love to chill, play on my PC and watch some YouTube when I’m not doing uni work.

Apple or Android?

All my life I have been switching from one to the other but right now it’s Apple.

What is your go-to meal?

I would say it has to be a burger from BFK, it is to die for if you like barbecue food.

What is your dream holiday?

I would say going to Whistler in Canada – it has mountain biking in the summer and skiing in the winter. I would happily live there if the average house price wasn’t almost 2 million dollars.

Tell us an unusual thing about you, that not everyone knows about.

I have been blind in my left eye since I was born – hence the glasses. Somehow my geography still manages to be worse than my eyesight.

If you could only have three apps on your smartphone, which would you pick?

Spotify, YouTube and Notion.

What is a big goal you would like to achieve?

To eventually save up enough for getting my own place but with house prices and bills rising I can’t see it happening soon unless the crypto market (somehow) takes off again.

Ok, now it’s time for some quick-fire questions!

IOS or Android? IOS.

Online gaming (Xbox etc) or board games?  Online gaming (PC)

Dogs or cats? Both

Holidaying in the UK or abroad? Abroad

Favourite meal? Pepperoni pizza

Dream holiday destination? – Canada or Bali

Countryside or the city? – They are both great in their own way

Glass half full or glass half empty? – Glass half full always

Summer or Winter?  Summer

Cakes or a pasty? It has to be cake for me

Favourite film of all time? Superbad is always going to be a classic

Check out the rest of the team here.

Do you want to get more leads & customers online?